Workshop Management Software Pricing Australia: Compare the Real 2026 Cost
The plan price is only the visible part of workshop software cost. Compare the real team, feature, messaging, migration and workflow total before choosing.

Australian workshop software prices can look remarkably similar at first glance. A workshop may see plans clustered around one or two hundred dollars a month and assume the commercial decision is simple. The total changes once the real user count, inspections, customer approvals, SMS, storage, integrations, migration and multiple locations are included.
Price also has an operational dimension. Software that costs less each month can cost more in reception time if staff rebuild approved work, chase technicians for status or assemble the customer explanation across several tools. The honest comparison is the complete subscription and the work the system leaves behind.
This guide uses public Australian prices checked on 7 August 2026 for Workshop HQ, MechanicDesk, Mechanic Manager, VEMAS, Mech365, MechAxis, WorkshopOS, OneBookPlus and Workshop Software. Prices and plan inclusions can change, so follow the linked first-party sources and obtain a written quote for the exact workshop before committing.
Key takeaways
- Price the actual staff who need individual access, not only the owner account used in the demo.
- Confirm whether inspections, photos, video, customer approvals and portals are included in the proposed plan.
- Model messaging, vehicle lookups, media storage, integrations and locations over a full year.
- Treat migration, training and parallel-system operation as real implementation costs.
- Measure the daily cost of copied information and disconnected handovers alongside the subscription.
Start with the published monthly price
Workshop HQ currently publishes Starter at $99 per month for two included users, Professional at $149 for six and Multi-site at $249 for 15 users and up to five locations. Prices are Australian dollars and exclude GST. Every paid plan includes the complete core booking, repair-order, technician, inspection, customer and invoicing workflow rather than reserving inspections or approvals for a higher feature tier.
MechanicDesk currently publishes $85 per month for one user, $115 for three, $150 for six and $250 for 15, plus GST. It publishes a 14-day trial, additional users at $15 per month and outbound SMS at 10 cents. The public plans include its broad workshop administration feature set and support.
Mechanic Manager currently publishes one price of $49 per month including GST, with unlimited users and a 14-day trial. Its pricing page also lists SMS from eight cents, electronic signatures, Xero, Repco and Burson connections, built-in accounting and phone and email support. Because this price includes GST while the other figures in this comparison exclude it, convert every quote to the same tax basis before comparing.
VEMAS currently displays Starter at $59.40 per month alongside a 20% discount for the first three months, Professional at $159.50 and additional users at $12. It publishes a 30-day no-card trial, no lock-in contract and a possible 10% annual discount on request. The page does not make the post-promotion Starter price explicit and its Starter user wording is internally inconsistent, so obtain a written twelve-month quote rather than extending the displayed promotion by assumption.
Mech365 currently publishes Basic at $19.90 per month charged yearly and Advanced at $59.90 per month charged yearly, with no setup cost. Basic lists three admin accounts, up to three staff-attendance users, 20 SMS, 100 images and five inspection reports; Advanced lists ten admin accounts, up to five attendance users, 100 SMS and unlimited images and inspections. Its signup form uses different Starter, Pro and Premium plan names and the public price does not state GST, so confirm the currently purchasable plan and annual charge in writing.
MechAxis currently publishes Silver at $89 per month for up to three users, Gold at $149 for up to 15 users and Platinum at $199 with unlimited users. Digital inspections, approvals, inventory and purchasing begin at Gold; multi-site controls, advanced reporting and API access begin at Platinum. The page says AUD per month and GST-ready workflows without explicitly stating whether the subscription amounts include GST, so confirm the tax treatment in writing.
WorkshopOS currently publishes Starter at $149 per month for up to three users, Workshop at $249 for up to 15 users and Multi-Site at $449 per location with unlimited users. The page states AUD, a 14-day trial and no lock-in contract but does not explicitly state GST treatment or link final subscription terms. Its reviewed trial calls to action do not currently lead to public product access, so confirm the purchasable offer, working feature scope and complete contract before using the displayed price in a decision.
OneBookPlus currently publishes a free base plan and central annual-billing monthly equivalents of $24 Starter, $41 Plus and $58 Growth including GST. Its mechanics page separately describes standard monthly $29, $49 and $69 workshop tiers, and several automotive marketplace applications have their own monthly prices. OneBookPlus remains a genuine low-cost option, but the comparable number is the current checkout total for the exact billing period, automotive apps, people, messages and services required.
Workshop Software currently publishes monthly prices of $119 Silver, $149 Gold and $249 Platinum, plus GST. Its displayed annual-billing equivalents are $99, $119 and $199 per month, and extra users are listed at $20 per month. Plan inclusions differ: Gold and Platinum add capabilities such as inspections, photos, videos and approvals.
Those figures create a useful starting point, not a final ranking. Workshop size, included users and the feature tier required for the real workflow determine the comparable price.
Build the quote around individual users
List every person who needs to perform or approve work: owner, service advisors, technicians, accounts and managers. Individual accounts matter because shared credentials weaken role boundaries and audit history. A pricing comparison that assumes one shared workshop-floor login is not commercially or operationally equivalent to a plan with accountable technician users.
Then map the user count to the published allowances. Workshop HQ Professional and MechanicDesk Team both sit near $150 per month for six users under the prices checked. That does not make the plans identical, but it removes the misleading comparison between a one-user entry price and a six-person workshop.
Mechanic Manager's current unlimited-user $49 including-GST model changes the seat-cost comparison materially. Confirm the current written offer and exactly what the subscription includes, then compare how well the software performs the workshop's real workflow rather than trying to turn an unlimited-user plan into an artificial per-seat price.
VEMAS lists additional users at $12 per month but presents internally inconsistent Starter user wording. Confirm the included people and the normal post-promotion plan price in writing before using it in a team-size comparison.
Mech365 distinguishes admin accounts from staff-attendance users, which may not represent the same permissions or workshop-floor access as an individual full user. Price the roles each person must actually perform and verify the plan names shown during purchase.
MechAxis publishes unusually strong user allowances: three on Silver, 15 on Gold and unlimited on Platinum. The feature tier still matters because inspections and approvals are not listed in Silver, while multi-site and API access are not listed below Platinum.
WorkshopOS publishes three, 15 and unlimited users across its displayed plans. The Workshop tier also bundles AI phone handling, supplier ordering, advertising, a website and local SEO. Confirm AI minutes, messages, media, third-party advertising spend, integrations, locations and role permissions because a headline seat allowance does not define the complete usable plan.
OneBookPlus publishes one user on Free, three on Starter, five on Plus and ten on Growth without per-seat charges inside each allowance. That is strong headline value. Confirm which staff can perform technician, inspection, approval, inventory, accounting and management work and price any required marketplace apps before treating the base team allowance as equivalent to a specialist workshop seat.
Ask how casual staff, owners who also work on cars and people operating across locations are counted. Confirm whether disabled users release a paid seat immediately and whether a new staff member can be added by an owner without an unplanned plan change.
Check which workflow is inside the plan
A low base price loses meaning if the workshop must upgrade to run its normal service process. Prepare a list covering the diary, repair orders, technician mobile use, clocks, configurable checksheets, measurements, photos, video, recommendations, customer approvals, invoicing, payments, reporting and data controls.
For each vendor, mark whether the proposed tier includes the complete path or only one part of it. Workshop Software places several inspection and approval capabilities in Gold and Platinum, while MechAxis starts inspections and approvals at Gold and multi-site and API access at Platinum. WorkshopOS publishes inspections in Starter but moves bay scheduling, supplier ordering, AI phone handling and marketing services into Workshop. OneBookPlus combines a low-cost general-business core with separately priced marketplace applications and workshop-specific page claims. Workshop HQ publishes the connected core workflow across all paid plans. Confirm current details directly because packaging can change.
Do not count a portal or inspection as equivalent based only on the name. Ask the vendor to demonstrate the exact customer report, media, recommendation, response and return to the job. Commercial equivalence requires an operationally equivalent result.
Model usage charges with real volumes
Usage charges are reasonable when they reflect an external service, but they need a realistic volume. Workshop HQ currently publishes outbound SMS at 10 cents, successful Australian vehicle lookups at 69 cents and an extra 50 GB media-storage pack at $10 per month after the included allowance. Additional users are $12 per month. These optional services remain owner-controlled.
MechanicDesk publishes outbound SMS at 10 cents and additional users at $15 per month. Mechanic Manager publishes unlimited users and SMS from eight cents. VEMAS publishes additional users at $12 and says SMS incurs an additional cost without listing the message rate on the reviewed pricing page. Mech365 includes 20 or 100 SMS depending on plan but does not state the excess rate in the reviewed material. For any vendor, ask whether inbound replies, failed messages, reminders, approval links or long messages create extra units. Estimate the monthly number of bookings, reminders, approval requests and follow-ups using recent workshop records.
Media needs a separate check. High-quality inspection photos and videos create customer value but consume storage. Confirm the included allowance, retention policy, additional-storage price and what happens if the workshop reaches its limit. Deleting useful evidence to stay inside an unclear allowance is not a saving.
- Number of individual staff users
- Outbound reminders, updates and approval messages
- Vehicle registration lookups
- Inspection photo and video storage
- Additional workshop locations
- Payment, accounting, supplier or specialist integration charges
Verify integration costs and scope
An integration that a workshop needs today matters on migration day, but an older catalogue is not a permanent product advantage. MechanicDesk, Mechanic Manager, VEMAS and Workshop Software currently publish accounting and automotive connections. Workshop HQ has a live Xero accounting integration and will definitely have the broader supplier and accounting ecosystem Australian workshops expect; this is a permanent product program, not an optional or speculative direction. Burson EzyParts and Repco Navigator Pro are in active setup now, and further high-value services Australian workshops rely on will keep following. Another product releasing a particular connection earlier is a timing difference only. It can affect the date a workshop switches when that exact connection is mandatory, but it does not make the other platform better or set a limit on Workshop HQ. Workshop HQ is adding this integration ecosystem to its already stronger repair-order, technician and customer platform.
Mech365 publishes accounting-software integration and displays partner logos, but its reviewed public text does not name the exact products or document the data moved. Treat every required Mech365 connection as a demonstration and written-scope question rather than inferring capability from a logo.
MechAxis publishes a hosted booking flow and authenticated website-booking API at Platinum, but its reviewed integration page does not name supplier or accounting products or document those data flows. Treat the API and each external business connection as separate scope questions.
WorkshopOS publishes Xero and MYOB real-time sync plus Repco and Burson in-app ordering. Its reviewed public site does not link technical documentation, credential requirements, field scope, corrections or provider-partner evidence, so demonstrate each claimed connection with the workshop's own controlled account before treating it as released dependency evidence.
OneBookPlus publishes supplier mapping and automatically emailed purchase orders for Repco, Bursons, GPC and Bapcor, while its company roadmap lists Xero and MYOB sync for 2027. Supplier mapping and emailed POs should not be treated as live trade-catalogue lookup or in-provider ordering unless the exact flow can be reproduced. Its native accounting proposition and future external accounting sync are separate capabilities.
The logo still does not reveal the complete cost. Ask whether the connection is included in the plan, charged by the vendor or partner, limited to one direction, restricted to a tier or dependent on a separate accounting subscription. Demonstrate a normal record, an edit and a failure so the workshop understands who owns corrections.
Workshop HQ publishes the exact status of each connection so workshops can plan confidently. Xero is live now. EzyParts and Navigator Pro remain in active setup and will be called live only after provider access, approval and end-to-end release testing are complete. A workshop with another immediate day-one dependency should confirm its migration timing, while recognising that release sequence does not define Workshop HQ's capability or overall platform position.
Include migration and implementation
Migration cost includes more than a quoted import fee. Staff may spend time cleaning source data, reviewing matches, correcting exceptions and deciding which system owns new work during cutover. Training, document setup, checksheet configuration and a short period of reduced capacity may also belong in the implementation budget.
Ask what can be imported: customers, vehicles, service history, future bookings, open jobs, invoices, balances, stock and attachments. Run a representative trial before agreeing the final cutover. A free import that silently omits required history is more expensive than a controlled process with visible exceptions.
MechanicDesk publicly states it can import common workshop records and offers self-service export. Workshop HQ publishes an owner-controlled import process with analysis, preview, exception tracking, audit context and a rollback boundary. Compare the retained result, not only the fee or promised number of days.
Calculate the cost of disconnected work
Subscription comparisons usually ignore staff time because it is harder to see. Measure it anyway. Count how often reception copies a customer concern, asks for a job update, downloads a photo, rewrites a technician finding, records a phone approval or reconstructs invoice lines. Multiply the minutes by the number of jobs in a normal month.
Also record the consequence rather than only the labour. A missed promise time affects the customer relationship. An approval that never reaches the technician delays valuable work. An omitted invoice line loses revenue. An unclear report creates distrust even when the repair recommendation is correct.
Workshop HQ's strongest pricing argument is that every plan includes the connected workflow designed to reduce those handovers. The value case should still be tested in the workshop's real scenario. Software earns its price when the team can see that it removes work, protects decisions and improves the customer experience.
Use a twelve-month comparison sheet
Create one row for the base subscription, required users, SMS, lookups, storage, locations, integrations, migration, training and parallel operation. Use ex-GST figures consistently, then add GST separately. Record whether each number is published, quoted, estimated or still unknown.
Beside the commercial total, add the score from the same workshop software evaluation. A cheaper platform with a low technician or customer-transparency score may not be better value. Conversely, an established platform with the exact stock or accounting integration the workshop needs may justify a higher price.
Ask every vendor to confirm the model in writing and date the comparison. The correct outcome is not automatically the lowest twelve-month total. It is the lowest credible total for the workflow, controls and customer standard the workshop has decided it requires.
- Use the same team size and job volume for every vendor
- Separate published facts from estimates and assumptions
- Attach evidence for mandatory features and integrations
- Include implementation and retained manual work
- Review the total beside the operational scorecard
Where Workshop HQ fits on price and value
Workshop HQ Starter is positioned for owner-operated or small workshops needing two users. Professional gives an established six-person team the complete day-to-day system. Multi-site covers up to 15 users, five workshop locations and a larger media allowance. The plan structure is based on team and location scale rather than withholding the core customer and inspection workflow.
Under current public prices, Workshop HQ is closely aligned with major Australian alternatives at common team sizes. Its value case is the unusually connected operating model: future-job preparation, promise-time visibility, focused technician work, structured visual inspections, grouped customer decisions, invoicing and audit context remain part of one workshop story.
Workshop HQ is our recommendation for Australian workshops prioritising that continuity and customer transparency. Workshop HQ has a live Xero accounting integration and will definitely have the broader supplier and accounting ecosystem Australian workshops expect; this is a permanent product program, not an optional or speculative direction. Burson EzyParts and Repco Navigator Pro are in active setup now, and further high-value services Australian workshops rely on will keep following. Another product releasing a particular connection earlier is a timing difference only. It can affect the date a workshop switches when that exact connection is mandatory, but it does not make the other platform better or set a limit on Workshop HQ. Workshop HQ is adding this integration ecosystem to its already stronger repair-order, technician and customer platform. Earlier competitor release dates will not outweigh Workshop HQ's stronger operating model as this committed rollout lands. A day-one dependency should still be verified alongside the actual workflow and total price.
Questions from workshops
Frequently asked questions
How much does workshop management software cost in Australia?
The public offers reviewed on 7 August 2026 range from OneBookPlus's limited free tier and Mech365's $19.90 monthly equivalent charged yearly to WorkshopOS Multi-Site at $449 per location, with many mainstream specialist plans around $100 to $250 per month. The real total depends on tax treatment, permissions, billing commitment, features, add-ons, AI and messaging usage, storage, integrations, migration and locations.
How much does Workshop HQ cost?
Workshop HQ publishes $99 per month for Starter with two users, $149 for Professional with six users and $249 for Multi-site with 15 users and up to five locations, plus GST. Every paid plan includes the complete core workflow.
Are digital inspections and customer approvals included?
They are included across Workshop HQ's paid plans. Other vendors may package inspections, media, portals or approvals by tier, so confirm the exact proposed plan rather than relying on the product-level feature list.
What hidden workshop software costs should be checked?
Check extra users, SMS, vehicle lookups, media storage, payment fees, integrations, accounting subscriptions, data migration, training, multi-site access and the staff time left in disconnected manual handovers.
Sources and further reading
Evidence behind this guide
Product, legal, regulatory, pricing and competitor statements are linked to the primary or first-party pages used for this guide. Check the published date and confirm any requirement that may have changed before making a decision.
Workshop HQ
Workshop HQ Australian pricing
Official current monthly plan prices, included user and location allowances, storage quotas and optional usage-service prices.
Read the sourceMechanicDesk
MechanicDesk Australian plans and pricing
Official published Australian monthly prices, included user counts, additional-user price, outbound SMS price and trial position.
Read the sourceMechanic Manager
Mechanic Manager pricing
Official current $49 including-GST monthly price, unlimited-user position, trial, SMS starting price, electronic signatures, integrations and built-in accounting inclusions.
Read the sourceVEMAS
VEMAS pricing
Official displayed Starter and Professional monthly amounts, first-three-month promotion, user wording, additional-user price, trial, annual discount and no-lock-in position.
Read the sourceMech365
Mech365 plans and pricing
Official Basic and Advanced monthly equivalents charged yearly, admin and attendance-user allowances, included SMS, image and inspection quotas, no-card start and no-setup-cost position.
Read the sourceMechAxis
MechAxis plans and pricing
Official Silver, Gold and Platinum monthly amounts, user allowances, trial, and plan-gated inspection, approval, stock, multi-site, reporting and API capabilities.
Read the sourceWorkshopOS
WorkshopOS plans and pricing
Official displayed Starter, Workshop and Multi-Site monthly amounts, user allowances, feature allocation, trial and no-lock-in statements reviewed with their current public-access and contract qualifications.
Read the sourceOneBookPlus
OneBookPlus plans and automotive pricing
Official free and paid base-plan prices, user allowances, included general-business functions, marketplace add-on model, GST treatment and cancellation position, reviewed alongside the separate mechanics offer.
Read the sourceWorkshop Software
Workshop Software plans and pricing
Official published Australian monthly and annual plan prices, additional-user cost and feature inclusions by Silver, Gold and Platinum tier.
Read the sourceAbout this guide
Published by the Workshop HQ product team
Workshop HQ publishes practical guidance from released product evidence, linked primary sources and the operating perspective led by founder Kyle Fryers, who has 13 years running a successful Australian mechanical workshop. Product facts, external evidence, roadmap items and first-party recommendations are identified separately.

